Management Committee

The INCU is managed by the Management Committee, which controls and manages the affairs of the INCU and day-to-day activities.

Strategic and advisory support to the Management Committee is provided by the INCU Advisory Board and administrative support is provided by the INCU Secretariat.

Professor Dr David Widdowson


Professor David Widdowson is Chief Executive Officer of the Centre for Customs & Excise Studies at Charles Sturt University. He is President of the International Network of Customs Universities; Editor-in-Chief of the World Customs Journal, a member of the WCO’s PICARD Advisory Group, and a founding director of the Trusted Trade Alliance.

David holds a PhD in Customs Management, and has over 35 years experience in his field of expertise, including 21 years with the Australian Customs Service. His research areas include trade facilitation, regulatory compliance management, risk management and supply chain security.

Professor Dr Hans-Michael Wolffgang


Prof. Dr. Hans- Michael Wolffgang is a professor of law since 1995 and head of the Institute of Customs and International Trade Law at the University of Münster, Germany.

He is co-founder of AWA Foreign Trade Academy (1996), AWB Tax Consultancy (2005) and AWB Law Firm (2008), specialized in customs law, value added tax law and law of export controls, with branches in Hamburg and Munich.

Prof. Wolffgang is member of the PICARD Advisory Group to the World Customs Organization (2008). He is co-founder and vice president of the International Network of Customs Universities (INCU) and member of the editorial board of the World Customs Journal (WCJ) since 2005.

Prof. Dr. Wolffgang has written extensively on international trade law, customs law and export control law.

Dr Andrew Grainger

Committee Member

Dr Andrew Grainger is an experienced trade facilitation practitioner and academic. He is currently based at Nottingham University Business School and is regularly consulted by governments, companies and international organisations.

In previous roles, Andrew worked as Deputy Director at SITPRO, the former UK trade facilitation agency, and Secretary for EUROPRO, the umbrella body for European trade facilitation organisations. His PhD thesis on Supply Chain Management and Trade Facilitation was awarded the Palgrave Macmillan Prize in Maritime Economics and Logistics 2005-2008 for best PhD thesis.

Professor Dr Wieslaw Czyzowicz

Committee Member

Wieslaw “Wes” Czyzowicz is Professor at Warsaw School of Economics and Warsaw College of Customs and Logistics and a former Director-General of the Polish Customs Service. Wes is also President of the Scientific Board of the oldest professional Polish Customs Journal “Customs and Tax Law Monitor”, a longstanding Member of the Boards of CONFIAD, IFCBA and CLECAT, and President of the Consultative Council to the Director-General of the Polish Customs Service. He has published over 250 articles and some books on Customs matters.

Mr Samuel Bautista

Committee Member

Samuel Bautista is a Customs Broker by profession and the Chief Learning Officer of the Academy of Developmental Logistics which is involved in professional training and development of logistics and customs professionals in the Philippines. Currently, he is the Vice President for International Affairs of the Chamber of Customs Brokers, Inc. (the national organization of Customs Brokers in the Philippines) and a member of the Philippines Commission on Higher Education’s Technical Panel for Customs Education.

He is also a Researcher on Customs & Trade Security and International Trade Regulations for the Center for Information Convergence and Strategies (CICS) at San Diego State University in California, a member of the Management Committee of the International Network of Customs Universities (INCU), an associated member of the International Federation of Customs Brokers Association (IFCBA). He is a regular participant in the World Customs Organizations Partnership in Customs Academic Research and Development (PICARD) conferences. Sam graduated Cum Laude with a bachelors degree in Customs Administration from Lyceum of the Philippines University-Batangas and completed his Masters degree in Educational Management from the University of the Philippines.

As a training professional, he was conferred a Diplomate in Workplace Learning & Performance (DWLP) by the Philippine Society of Training and Development (PSTD). In a previous capacity, he served as the Chief of Staff of Customs Commissioner Alberto Lina in 2015 to 2016.